August 9, 1943

New Restrictions in Eastern War Zone
NEW YORK, N.Y.—Announced here last night were new restrictions on the use of cameras at beaches, resorts, and other areas in the Eastern military area. The restrictions, which also apply to drawings and sketches, become effective today. The new rules state that making “…any photograph, photographic negative, sketch, or other representation of a prohibited or restricted zone, or any part of it, or any object in it is banned…”. The regulations were announced Sunday in a public proclamation issued by Lt. General Hugh A. Drum, commander of the Eastern Defense Command and the First Army. The Eastern military area includes the District of Columbia, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and the parts of Florida east of the Apalachicola river.

No comments:

Post a Comment